So far as weight loss plans are concerned, the term ‘Low-Carb’ seems to produce more opinions, myths, misconceptions, misinformation, misunderstandings and just plain old untruths than all other nutritional approaches to weight loss combined.  The biggest reason for this is the the fallout from the long running feud between the low-fat camp and the low-carb camp.  If there’s one thing that both camps agree on it’s that they can’t agree on anything!

The low-fat weight loss theory is both challenged and threatened by the studies, research, data and results that support the efficient, healthy low-carb nutritional lifestyle.  This ongoing feud has produced many a heated discussion and debate, has separated friends and family and has turned many folks off from pursuing any nutritional lifestyle at all that leads to permanent weight loss and improved health.  These two opposing dietary views have indeed become the Hatfields and McCoys of the diet world.  Sad but true!

Why am I even talking about this you ask?  Well, I wanted to make it clear to everyone that I’m not here to bash folks who choose the low-fat nutritional lifestyle.  If it works for you, then that’s great and I’m happy for you.  I’m not here to condemn you if you’re on it, however, it is impossible for me to sit idly by and support the low-fat theory since I have learned that it is not a sustainable nutritional lifestyle, in addition to the fact that it has actually damaged many folks health.

And yes, I have personally tried low-fat and even lost a few pounds on it, but it just did not work out for me.  It left me hungry most of the time and induced constant cravings for carb-laden foods.  Just the opposite has been true for the low-carb nutritional lifestyle.  I eat to satiety and am able to go for hours between meals without nagging hunger and the cravings are practically non-existent.

So, this blog is not here to debate diet plans and nutritional lifestyles.  Life Witout Donuts is my way of sharing my own personal story of my journey back to a healthy nutritional lifestyle.  And please note, I don’t call low-carb a diet because it really is a nutritional lifestyle and one that is truly sustainable for a lifetime.  I’m here to tell you why I chose low-carb, why it works for me and how it can work for you as well.  So don’t run off too quickly.  At least hear me out before making a decision.  Pull up a chair, grab a cup of coffee  (no donuts allowed) and let’s a friendly little conversation about how we can make life better for all of us!

There Really is Life Without Donuts!

Ron, aka The Former Donut Junkie

