A Friend Who Cared Enough to Share

In early 2003 I had a friend who was losing weight and who said that he was on the only diet he had ever experienced that he could lose weight and still not be hungry all the time.  My ears perked up!  The first time we met for lunch after he had adopted his new low-carb nutritional lifestyle he ordered a cheeseburger.  I’m already thinking, “now I could live with eatin’ cheeseburgers on a diet!”  When his cheeseburger arrived, he immediately took off the bun and threw it away and explained to me that bread was not on the plan, but meat and cheese was.  Me likey!

He gave me a quick overview of the highlights of what he called ‘The Atkins Diet’.  Kind of a Reader’s Digest version of some of the allowable foods.  I was really interested at this point because he was talking bacon, sausage, eggs, steak, burgers, chicken and some of the veggies I liked as well.  I’ll just go ahead and bust your bubble by telling you that, all my life I’ve never been much on veggies.  There I said it, OK?  And I feel better for it.  Anyhow, the more he told me about the advantages of the Atkins Diet, the more I liked it and the more it sounded like something I could live with for life.

I immediately went out and bought Dr. Atkin’s New Diet Revolution, referred to as DANDR by veteran low-carbers, and began to read.  The more I read, the more I knew this whole low-carb thing was making sense for the first time in my life.  And I began to see how this was a diet that was perfect for my food preferences and was going to be something I could be successful at for a lifetime.

My Most Important Low-Carb Success Tip

Now I want to stop right here and share my best, most powerful, most important low-carb success tip.  You don’t even need to grab a pen and paper and write it down.  It’s easy, it’s simple, it’s six little words that will change your life if you do it.  And I know you have a desire to lose weight and get healthy or you wouldn’t be here reading my blog.  Are you ready?  OK!  BUY THE BOOK AND READ IT! Yes, you read that right.  BUY THE BOOK AND READ IT! I know you were looking for something mystical, hard, difficult or impossible, but most of the time it’s the simple principles that bring success to your life.  BUY THE BOOK AND READ IT!

What book?  I think Dr. Atkins New Diet Revolution is the best starting point to learn about the low-carb nutritional lifestyle.  It is the original low-carb plan that all others are built around and I highly recommend that you start with this book.  Yes, there are lots of other low-carb plans out there but reading Dr. Atkins will build your foundational knowledge of the low-carb lifestyle.  After you read it, then by all means, move on and read as many other low-carb books as possible.  Arm yourself with the knowledge and information to succeed.

Everyone I know who has been successful at the low-carb nutritional lifestyle has bought the book, read it, studied it and meditated on it until it becomes a part of them.  Now, the internet has lots of information on ‘doing low-carb’, and if you think you can save a few bucks by not buying the book and just ‘doing low-carb’ from what information you can Google, well just let me go ahead and tell you that you are setting yourself up for a quick, hard failure.  Don’t end up being one of those miserable people I call ‘nay-sayers’, who have never read DANDR, then go around whining that “low-carb just doesn’t work…I’ve tried it and it just doesn’t work.”  Fact is, these kind of folks don’t have a clue what they’re talking about and they are the very ones who give the low-carb lifestyle a bad name.

There’s entirely too many myths and misinformation out there about the low-carb nutritional lifestyle to health and weight loss.  Go straight to the source and arm yourself with the data, the research, the studies, the whys, the why nots, the hows and the how-not-to’s.  Make an investment in your health and well being and spend ten bucks and BUY THE BOOK AND READ IT! Come on now, you’ve spent that much on junk food in one day and you know it.

And, no I’m not hung up on The Atkins Diet.  I don’t work for the Atkins folks or have any kind of financial interest or motivation by recommending their book.  If you notice I don’t any have any links here to sell you the book.  I just believe in its concept enough to recommend that every low-carber should have a copy.  I will be writing about other low-carb books in the near future.  There are so many great resources out there to help you be successful at adopting your new nutritional lifestyle.

There Really is Life Without Donuts!

Ron, aka The Former Donut Junkie

