OK, it wasn’t actually your mom who called and said to be sure to eat breakfast.  It was actually a blog post by Dr. Michael Eades, bestselling author of Protein Power, entitled More on Protein for Breakfast.  He cites a study  in the British Journal of Nutrition which basically concludes that eating a protein rich meal for breakfast reduces hunger the rest of the day.  Wow!  Our moms have been right all along!  And of course those of us who are living the low-carb nutritional lifestyle know that a protein breakfast keeps the hunger pangs at bay all morning.

Of course you already know how much I loved donuts if you’ve read my story or followed my posts here.  I could easily eat as many as half dozen donuts for breakfast and be ready for more by mid-morning.  It didn’t matter if it was donuts, bagels, muffins, oatmeal, pancakes or any other sugary carb-loaded fare, I was always hungry within a couple of hours.  But after eating the low-carb way for a short while I realized that my bacon or sausage with egg breakfast would run me for four to six hours.

But don’t take my word for it.  If you’ve ever even remotely thought about doing low-carb but just can’t make up your mind, allow me to suggest starting off by eating a low-carb breakfast for a couple weeks.  I believe you’ll experience the most satiety of any breakfast you’ve ever tried.  You’ll surprise yourself that you will be able to make it all the way to lunch time without raiding the fridge or vending machine.

And check out Dr. Eades blog post for all the details on this study and for his comments as well.

There Really is Life Without Donuts!

Ron, aka The Former Donut Junkie

