Just wanted to throw out a little FYI about an easier way of Blog Reading if someone wasn’t aware of it.  You can find blogs and bookmark them and go check them everyday or when you think of it.  But that can be time consuming and frustrating if they don’t update often.  To take all the work out of it for you, tools have been developed to visit the sites for you, check for updates, and report back to you with new articles.

One such site is Google Reader.  It has a very user friendly interface that allows you to enter the blogs you want to subscribe to and it does all the work from there.  You merely go to the Google Reader website and read your blogs or you can add Google Reader to your iGoogle home page for even more convenience.  I have used Google Reader for some time and have been very happy with it.

Bloglines is another aggregator, or gatherer of your blog updates.  I’ve not personally used Bloglines but I’ve read several positive reviews of it.  It seems to be a very popular Blog Reader.

Also, check out this search for aggregators for even more choices.  They just bring all your reading together into one easy to find and convenient format, making your life simpler and easier.

UPDATE 09/17/2008: I signed up for Bloglines the same day I wrote this post just to try it out.  It is indeed everything everyone says it is.   Highly organizable with a great folder, sub-folder structure for all you other OCD organization freaks out there.  The organization is one of the best things about it in my opinion.  In addition, you can add a “Sub with Bloglines” button to your Firefox Tool Bar so when you find a blog or news feed you want to subscribe to, all you have to do is click that little button and wah-lah…you’re subscribed…very cool!  There are a couple different ways Bloglines can notify you of new arrivals, the best of which I thought was another Firefox extension that appears as a tiny icon in the lower right hand corner of the Firefox browser and shows a little red dot on it when new stuff arrives.  Very unobtrusive.  And the neat thing is that all this is web based, so there’s nothing cluttering your computer and you can check and read Bloglines from any computer anywhere in the world.  Lastly they have a “Top 1000” list of subscribed blogs and news that you can browse through to see if there’s anything you’re interested in.

I still have my Google Reader account set up but I’m not using it.  I now have all my blogs registered with Bloglines and I really like the way it brings everything together into a highly organized presentation.  Instead of just one humongus random list of items, I can pick the categories I want to read right now and leave the rest until I have more time.  And of course there are plenty of options for those who like to tinker and tweak things.  All in all, I’m pretty happy with Bloglines and they are working pretty hard to make constant improvements and upgrades.  It’s free, so register [it’s painless and quick] and give it a whirl and see what you think.  Just my 2CW FWIW!

There Really is Life Without Donuts!

Ron, aka The Former Donut Junkie

