“I just want to be normal and eat like everyone else.” How many times have you and I been both the speaker and the hearer of that statement?  Most of us have at least somewhat of a desire within us to be ‘normal’, whatever that means.  Normal, an adjective, is defined as 1) conforming with or constituting a norm or standard or level or type or social norm; not abnormal. 2) Being approximately average or with certain limits in, e.g. intelligence and development.  So, being normal simply means to conform with someone elses standard, level or type and to be average.  So when we say we want to eat like everyone else, we’re in essence saying “I want to conform and be just average like everyone else.”

We generally make such statements when we’ve placed boundaries on the types and/or amounts of food we eat, more commonly known as a diet.  It’s when we attempt to live within these boundaries and see others eat our ‘forbidden foods’ that we fall into what I call the ‘Deprivation Mindset’.  It’s a mindset that quickly induces a ‘Pity Party’ and convinces us that we are totally deprived of all the good things that others  [average people] are able to enjoy.  You know what I’m talking about…woe, despair and agony on me!  It’s stinkin’ thinkin’ and if it’s not nipped in the bud it will, in short order, totally derail your journey to health and weight loss.  And by the way, low-carb is a journey and not a day hike!  It is a lifestyle!  It is not a diet!  If it is to be successful!

The fact is, there is no norm or standard when it comes to eating in this great country we live in.  A ‘normal’ way of eating does not exist, it is merely a figment of our imagination.  Normal is a picture we’ve painted for ourselves using only the colors created by our own abusive history of food.  We ignore what we know is the real truth and choose rather to believe the lie that “the way we ate prior to dieting was normal.” We further refuse to acknowledge that the foods that we ate pre-low-carb were not really foods at all, they were what I like to call pseudo-foods, anti-foods or food-like-substances.  Some call them frankenfoods, which simply means genetically or otherwise altered or modified.

If we can remove our brains from the toxic effects of sugary, carb-laden treats for even a few short days the fog begins to lift and for the first time in years we get our first blurry vision of the pseudo-foods that have been our cruel taskmasters.  We soon realize that these anti-foods that ‘normal’ people eat are not really food at all, they are conglomerations of unpronounceable chemicals that have been created in some mad scientist’s laboratory and repackaged as what I like to call a ‘food-like substance’.

From somewhere within us comes this ‘need to conform’ or to ‘fit the mold’.  It’s taken me quite some time off sugar and carbs to realize just how abnormal it is to gorge myself on sugar, the ultimate anti-nutrient.  Remember…sugar is that addictive powdery white substance that is the centerpiece of our dining room table and an ingredient in almost every prepackaged pseudo-food in your supermarket.  Truth is, no matter how you look at it, there’s nothing normal about consuming a steady diet of an addictive substance that triggers physical cravings so powerful it produces severe mood swings, tantrums, fits and a plethora of other abnormal behaviors like secret binges, only to mention a few.  Why, I ask myself, why do I want to conform or fit into the mold of those who choose to indulge themselves in such destructive behaviors?

The farther I have come on this ‘Journey to Normal’ the more I realized that it wasn’t really normal I was seeking.  That was a cop-out.  That was an excuse to abuse myself.  What I discovered was that the ‘Journey to Normal’ was an elusive fictional State that is located somewhere in the ‘Land of Fantasy’ on a little island called ‘Someday Isle’Someday Isle be normal, Someday Isle eat normal food. I’ve changed directions.  I’ve quit fantasizing about eating ‘normal’.  I no longer have a desire to conform or fit the mold.  I’ve regrouped, as they say, and I am now on a ‘Journey to Better Health’, a destination that really does exist, and one that I can more clearly see from where I am today, now that the fog and clouds of sugar has been lifted.

Fifteen months down the road from the end of my abusive history of food I realize that the only things I’m deprived of today is swollen aching ankles and feet, acid reflux, high blood pressure, not fitting into a restaurant booth, not being able to bend over and tie my own shoes, clothes that don’t fit, fat names and insults, binge eating, cravings, lies about my weight, spending all my money at the donut store and a myriad of other things that I don’t have time or space to list!

So forget about normal.  Normal is boring.  Normal is NO fun.  Normal is, well, just average.  Normal is elusive!  And besides, if you were normal you wouldn’t be here reading this extremely long-winded post by some abnormal blogger with an abnormal name like, the Former Donut Junkie.  Ditch the ‘Deprivation Mindset’ and make today the first day of your ‘Journey to Better Health’‘!  You’ll soon have a list of all the things that you DON’T miss about your food abuse days and you’ll never wish for ‘normal’ again.  Just be sure to come back and share ’em with me!

There Really is Life Without Donuts!

Ron, aka The Former Donut Junkie

