Pray tell what is the Former Donut Junkie doing blogging about donuts?  You’re probably sitting there mumbling, “I thought you had abandoned those evil sugary treats, so what’s up with this?”  Let me just assure you that I DO NOT eat donuts anymore!  They are indeed a thing of my past.  But I still read the news.  And I just couldn’t resist blogging about Krispy Kreme’s latest effort to pump some life back into their dwindling sales and profits.  Yes, the big KK has went in the financial hole big-time over the last several years.  Not because they didn’t have a great tasting product, but because, believe it or not, some Americans are finally starting to cut back on sugary treats.  They are seeking “healthier” snack alternatives, whatever that might mean.

According to this MSNBC article Krispy Kreme is going to try to improve slumping sales by, get this, adding soft serve ice cream to the menu!  Oh my gosh, KK execs must have been inhaling something.  You don’t have to be smarter than a fifth grader to realize that if the trend is for “healthier” snack alternatives you wouldn’t add ice cream.  And besides, soft serve ice cream is what I call an “ice cream like substance”, composed of who knows what kind of chemicals.  It’s the lowest price range ice cream out there, so how is “less-than-a-buck” ice cream going to fix all your financial woes?  They’re not even smart enough to copy their biggest competitor, Dunkin, and add “healthier” alternatives such as low-fat muffins, egg white flat-breads and such.  And even though those things aren’t really healthy, you can slap a “healthier” sticker on them people automatically believe it and buy into it.  Sucker!

I know you’re wondering, “is the Former Donut Junkie hoping they’ll go busted?”  An emphatic no.  You need to understand first of all that I’m not anti-business, so that means I never want to see a business go belly up.  And besides, if all the donut shops in the world closed their doors tomorrow, it wouldn’t stop the sugar addiction.  I know all too well.  If one sugar source dries up simply switch to another one.  Even outlawing unhealthy foods in America is not the answer to the obesity problem.   And even if that were possible, who’s gonna’ decide what’s to be outlawed?  The government?  The same people who invented the “Food Pyramid” that’s pretty much done us in?  I don’t think so!  That’s been a big part of our problem here in America is that the government has tried to get involved and mandate health and nutrition, when the fact is, they wouldn’t recognize good nutrition if it ran over ’em on a John Deere tractor!

Anyhow, enough of my zany, home-spun, redneck philosophies.  The whole point of the post was just to rant about the state of how most Americans are so deceived about what good healthy nutrition really is.   I was one of ’em for half a century.  Like I said, this blog has to have a certain amount of useless drivel, so here’s my quota for this month!

There Really is Life Without Donuts!

Ron, aka The Former Donut Junkie

