OK, here’s a question I’ve been thinking about lately since I’m down three pant sizes after fifteen months of low-carb.  As you continue to “shrink” in size as you low-carb do you plan to forever ditch what most of us call our “FAT” clothes, or will you hang onto them “just in case”? There seem to be several different ways of approaching this question after seeing some of the answers expressed on the LLVLC Discussion Forum.  So, I wanted to get some feedback from my blog readers.

There are some who say that they are forever sick of being fat and wearing “fat” clothes and never, ever want to see them again, so they’ve decided to give them to GoodWill or someone else who can use them.  This approach also adds an element of essentially “burning the bridge” to regaining the weight.  Their theory is that if I don’t have the clothes to “expand into” it will serve as an economic deterrent to regaining the weight.  That’s valid thinking and would certainly help us to think harder and longer if we do start to regain some weight.  When our pants get too tight to button without laying down on the bed, will that be motivation enough to get back on plan or will we be tempted to buy more clothes that “fit” again?  For me, that happened earlier this year when I got off plan for a couple of months.  Pants got tight enough that I decided, I’m not undoing what I’ve worked so hard for, so I got back on plan.  And at that point I still had my “fat” clothes in the closet.  Do I plan to get rid of them?  Well, you’ll just have to stay tuned!

In addition to the economic deterrent of “trashing your fat clothes”, I believe we build some confidence by getting rid of them.  Confidence in your new low-carb nutritional lifestyle. Did you notice that word lifestyle was emphasized?  That’s for a reason.  If you are serious about making low-carb a lifestyle, that is you plan on living it for the rest of your life, then I’d say, “trash ’em”!  You’re convinced it works for you and you love the foods, so why not build your confidence by making the call to GoodWill or someone else who could really use them?  And then you could replace that empty space in your closet with some really nice looking, well fitting clothes that you really love to wear.  And at the same time you’d be helping others by giving your old clothes away.

On the other hand, if you’re considering low-carb as just another diet, like all the others you’ve tried over the years, then I think I’d hang onto my “fat” clothes.  Why, you ask?  Because of the mindset that says, “I always gain my weight back when I go back to eating the way I did before.”  Duh!  Of course we do!  The type of diet is not important here, it’s the fact that “you can NEVER go back”! That’s right, you can’t go back to doing the same thing that made you “fat” to start with and expect to keep the weight off.  It ain’t gonna’ happen!

“To get what you’ve NEVER had, you must do what you’ve NEVER done!!!” ~~Anonymous

Now understand I’m not slamming anybody here, no matter what you decide to do.  We’re still gonna’ be friends if you trash your clothes or keep ’em.  It don’t make a rip to me.  But probing questions like these make good ways of examining ourself to see what our true mindset is about our weight loss.  Is it just a way of losing a few pounds or have I really and truly adopted low-carb as a lifestyle?  Some serious food for thought, huh?

Is keeping your “fat” clothes a setup for failure?  Is it a “Golden Parachute”?  Only you can answer those questions!  I will say that for me, it certainly makes it easier to say, “oh I’ll just get my next bigger size back out and wear them a couple of days until I get back on plan.”  In all honesty, when I’ve done that, I’ve never gotten back on plan until I gained all my weight back, plus a few more pounds for good measure.  So, keeping them is not the best alternative, at least for me.

But there are cases that keeping some of them might be a good idea.  Someone brought up a good point how that one’s weight can bounce up and down and you need a little wiggle room.  Now that doesn’t justify keeping several sizes larger, if you’ve lost lots of weight.  It might mean keeping one size larger once you’ve reached goal.  This is especially true with women approaching perimenopause, because as one woman said, “there is nothing more unpredictable than the change of life.” Now obviously, as a man I’m not speaking from experience on this one, so cut me a little slack here, as I’m only repeating what I’ve heard!

I’m sure there are perfectly other good reasons to keep some of the clothes you wore prior to your weight loss.  I’m not intending this post to be my own narrow minded, dogmatic view of this subject.  I’m hoping to generate some discussion as you comment and share your thoughts on what you might do.  There is wisdom in a multitude of counselors.  I look forward to hearing from you!

P.S. — I can tell you this much.  Whatever I do, I plan on keeping one of my “fattest” pants and shirts so I can take a look at them occasionally and see just how far I’ve come.  And to realize that I don’t EVER want to go back there!

There Really is Life Without Donuts!

Ron, aka The Former Donut Junkie

