I’ve been writing all kinds of posts about my favorite low-carb subject…dealing with our emotional and thought life concerning our nutritional lifestyle choices.  I suddenly realized that I hadn’t posted an update of my progress for those of you who are curious to see if I’ve lost or gained weight, or just maintained.

I’ve now been commited to the low-carb nutritional lifestyle for a total of seventeen months [started July 2007].  I started out at my highest lifetime weight of 288, which is a lot for my 5′-8″ height.  As of today the scale is reading 228.  That’s a total of 60 pounds gone!  That’s a total of 45 dozen donuts GONE!  That sixty pounds was like carrying a large child around all the time.  And I can tell a big difference.

But the pounds gone are only part of the benefits I’ve realized from the low-carb nutritional lifestyle.  There are health benefits and then there are just some practical benefits and advantages that one doesn’t often think of.  So, I’ll try to give you the short list so I won’t bore you to death.

Health wise, indigestion, gas, bloating and acid reflux are now practically non-existent.  Maybe that’s TMI, but the fact is, low-carb is just the healthiest way of eating for the digestive system so far as I’m concerned.  My blood pressure is coming down as more pounds come off and I hope to be completely off BP meds one day.  And my feet and ankles no longer ache like they once did.  I can now walk as far as I want to without getting short of breath.  I sleep better at night.

But here’s my list of a few of the other benefits that I really never considered when I started my weight loss.

  • I can now easily fit into a restaurant booth.  I hated the embarrassment and stares of disgust.
  • I can get down in the floor and play with my grand kids.
  • I can ride the rides at amusement parks without the embarrassment of not “fitting in the seat”.
  • I no longer have to shop at the “Big & Tall Men’s Shop”.
  • Donut shops no longer get most of my hard earned bucks.
  • It’s much easier for me to do my job — I’m a plumber and plumbing is never in easy places to get to.

I’m not done yet!  Probably the biggest benefit that I’m enjoying, which took me totally by surprise, is the fact that my world no longer revolves around food!  To be totally honest, I never really believed this was possible.  I’d heard folks say they didn’t think about food that much, but I didn’t really believe them.  But recently it just hit me one day that my thought life no longer was consumed with the thought of food.  I was no longer planning my next meal or snack before I finished the one I was eating.  I was no longer planning my next binge.  Visions of donuts and other sugary carb-laden treats were no longer dancing around in my head.  I suddenly realized that I was indeed free from my sugar addiction…that it was indeed a real possiblity.  Folks, you gotta’ realize I had a decades long sugar addiction.  But the fact is I’m free from it and you can be too.

I’ll write more about the sugar and carb addiction later, but I just wanted you to know how happy I am with the low-carb nutritional lifestyle regardless of all the naysayers out there.  They got here just a little to late to convince me that it’s unhealthy or doesn’t work.  Here’s a couple of pics…a “Before” and a “During”.  I’ve still got a goal of losing another 40 pounds and I’m not setting a target date to reach that goal.  Losing at a little slower rate than I expected has actually worked as an advantage to help me turn low-carb into the lifestyle that it is.

July 2007

July 2007

November 2008

November 2008

OK, for those who are wondering about what I’m doing standing in front of a donut shop in my “During” pic, this was taken on my birthday.  Some of you might even recognize this as being in Gatlinburg, TN.  We were out with some friends and I just had to have a pic in front of this sign to post on my blog.  And, NO, I didn’t eat the donuts, but I did buy a couple of new coffee cups.

There Really is Life Without Donuts!

Ron, aka The Former Donut Junkie

